Chess24 Sopiko Scotch

Chess Oscar (2010)

Magnus Carlsen wins Chess Oscar for second year running

Magnus Carlsen being interviewed at the King's tournament.

Magnus Carlsen being interviewed at the King's tournament. |

64-Chess Review organises a revived "Chess Oscar" with voting taking place on the journalists player of the previous year about this time. In voting I always take into account the player's results, the quality of their games, their contribution a favourable image for the game and all round entertainment value. This year Magnus Carlsen just edged out Viswanathan Anand, only the second time a World Champion didn't win it in the year of a title win. It was very close with 20 points separating the Carlsen (53 1st choices) and Anand (51 1st places).

Chess Oscar 2010 Press Release by Misha Savinov 30th July 2011

16 years ago Alexander Roshal and 64-Chess Review magazine revived the Chess Oscar - a special award for the best chess player of the year. Garry Kasparov won it in 1995, 1996, 1999, 2001, and 2002, Vishy Anand was the winner in 1997, 1998, 2003, 2004, 2007, and 2008, Vladimir Kramnik won in 2000, and 2006, Veselin Topalov took the Oscar in 2005, and Magnus Carlsen won in 2009.

The Chess Oscar 2010 iis awarded based on 111 lists from chess journalists of 36 countries (1st place in the list gives 13 points, 2nd place - 11 points, 3rd place - 9 points, 4th place - 7 points, 5th place - 6 points... 10th place - 1 point).

For the second year in a row the Oscar goes to Magnus Carlsen, who scored 1264 points. The gap between Carlsen and the runner-up - the World champion Vishy Anand - is mere 20 points! Only for the second time in history of the trophy it is not given to the World champion who successfully defended his title - in 1978 Viktor Korchnoi lost the championship match to Anatoly Karpov, but nevertheless received the Oscar.

The young Norwegian grandmaster was the world's highest rated player by the end of 2010 (2814 Elo), and won four supertournaments - Wijk aan Zee, Bazna, Nanjing and London. Even rather mediocre results at the Chess Olympiad and in the Grand Slam final did not overshadow these achievements. In addition, Carlsen was highly successful in speed chess - he tied for the first in the Amber tournament and took the bronze in the World blitz championship in Moscow. Magnus Carlsen was mentioned as the best player of the year in 53 submitted lists.

Chess Oscar 2010
1Magnus Carlsen531264
2Viswanathan Anand511244
3Levon Aronian4767
4Vladimir Kramnik570
5Sergey Karjakin535
6Veselin Topalov437
7Ian Nepomniachtchi2435
8Vassily Ivanchuk1428
9Hikaru Nakamura215
10Alexander Grischuk169

Shereshevsky Method

Chess and Bridge Shop Titled Tuesday

ChessBase Ad 6 Live DB

American Chess Magazine 4

Ginger GM - Chess Grandmaster Simon Williams

Contact Mark Crowther (TWIC) if you wish to advertise here.

The Week in Chess Magazine

Send a £30 donation via Paypal and contact me via email (Email Mark Crowther - I'll send you an address for a cbv file of my personal copy of every issue of the games in one database. Over 2 million games.

Read about 20 years of TWIC.

Read about issue 1200.

TWIC 1211 22nd January 2018 - 2165 games

Read TWIC 1211

Download TWIC 1211 PGN

Download TWIC 1211 ChessBase